MHRC Commissioners

## Commissioners

Members of the Commission are appointed by the Governor for staggered terms of 5 years each. No more than 3 of the members may be of the same political party. The members are subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over judiciary and confirmation by the Legislature. The Governor designates one member to be the chair.

## **COMMISSION CHAIR**

**ARNOLD S. CLARK** of Calais was appointed by Governor Lepage as Commissioner in September 2011 and later as Commission Chair in August of 2014. He is employed as an attorney at the law firm of Fletcher & Mahar. Before returning to Calais, where he grew up, Arnie practiced law at Friedman Gaythwaite Wolf in Portland, doing catastrophic personal injury defense, insurance coverage, product liability, and complex litigation. Prior to joining that firm, Arnie had practiced law in Waterville; during this time Arnold also served as Director of Maine Heritage Policy Center's Center for Constitutional Law. Before that, Arnold served as a law clerk to the Honorable Justice Paul L. Rudman of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court, after teaching at Quinnipiac University School of Law in Connecticut for two years as a visiting associate professor of law. He received his law degree from Quinnipiac in 2000.

## **CURRENT MEMBERS**

DEBORAH WHITWORTH of Portland was first appointed as a Commissioner by Governor LePage September 2011 to fill an unexpired term. She was appointed for a full term in August 2012; her current term ends in August 2017. Deb is owner of HR Studio Group-a human resources consulting firm located in Portland and serving businesses and nonprofits throughout Maine and Seacoast New Hampshire. Deb serves as Director of the Maine State Council of the national Society of Human Resource Management ("SHRM"). She was honored as 2012 Human Resources Leader of the Year by SHRM Maine State Council. Deb is the co-chair of the Advisory Council for the Maine Development Foundation Maine Employers' Initiative and also is an instructor at the University of Southern Maine in the Human Resources Certificate Program. She is adjunct faculty with Thomas College. Prior to being elected as Director of the Maine State Council of the Society for Human Resource Management, she served as President of the largest SHRM chapter in the state-the Human Resources Association of Southern Maine. Deb previously was employed by Mercer, a global human resources firm, Managing Director at Lebel and Harriman, Vice President of Human Resources at the Waldron Group of Companies, and the Regional Human Resources Manager at Central Maine Medical Center. Deb holds a Bachelors' Degree in Communications from Kent State University in Ohio. She earned her Senior Professional in Human Resources (SPHR) designation from the Human Resources Certification Institute of SHRM in 2002 and was among the first HR professionals in the country to earn her SHRM-SCP (Senior Certified Professional) designation in 2014.

JOHN NORMAN of Portland was appointed to the Commission by Governor LePage in May of 2014. [The term for this seat on the Commission had begun in 2013. When Governor LePage did not fill the position at that time, the Commissioner still in the seat (Paul Vestal) continued to serve until replaced.] Commissioner Norman's term ends in 2018. John is the Director of Insurance and Risk at Avangrid Inc., the parent company of Central Maine Power. Over the past 24 years John has worked primarily in the areas of Risk Management, Insurance and Claims with Central Maine Power Company, including its parent and affiliated companies; areas of responsibility have also included parts of Human Resources and Labor Relations. Prior to that John worked in the insurance industry. John is a graduate of the University of Southern Maine with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration. He holds a Master's Degree in Business Sciences from Husson University, and in December 2013 completed a Master's Degree in Business Administration through Husson University as well. In addition to his work and educational experiences, John serves as a board member of the Maine Council of Self-Insurers (MCSI) and the Maine Self-Insurance Guarantee Association (MSIGA), and is a past board member of Utilities Mutual Insurance Company. He also holds professional designations in the insurance and management fields.

**TED HELBERG** of Fairfield was appointed to the Commission by Governor LePage in March of 2016, to fill an expired term that began in August 2015; his term will expire in August 2020. Ted is the Vice President of Human Resources, South Region for Eastern Maine Health Systems. Previously he held similar management-level human resources positions in Maine with Acadia Hospital, Myllykoski North America, Sappi Fine Paper NA, and Avian Farms. Though he is a Maine native, Ted had gone to school, and worked around the country in human resources positions, before returning home in 1995. Ted is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University and received a Master's Degree in the Arts from Emporia State University in Kansas.

**FREDERICK OETTINGER** of Penobscot was appointed as a Commissioner by Governor LePage in June 2016 to fill a term that began in August 2015 and will end in August 2019. Fred, who retired from the workforce in 2012, for almost 40 years worked in management in the pulp and paper industry. Before retiring, Fred was Sappi's Managing Director Somerset Operations, and before that a Champion mill manager in Bucksport. Prior to that, Fred was employed for almost 30 years with St. Regis Paper Company in New York, which later was purchased by Champion and then International Paper; this work is what brought Fred to Maine in 1987. Fred is very active outdoors, including hunting, fishing, camping, snowboarding, skiing, golfing, and riding his motorcycle. He has served on the Board of Directors for Northeast Historic Films, and on the Board of Directors / Secretary for a camp association, and is an active member of the Blue Hill Rifle and Pistol Club. Fred holds a BS in Pulp and Paper Engineering from the State University of New York - Syracuse, and also holds several patents for paper products.